Finally jumping on the kale bandwagon

The refurbished cargo shed was overflowing with people when we arrived for lunch. Massive lines snaked haphazardly, everywhere, invading any space they could. You couldn’t tell whether someone was in line or simply gawking at a menu, trying to decide if the food would be worth the wait in a line that never seemed to move, peering over the silhouette of the person in front, with thoughts that changed from, it’s all part of the experience, to, this better be worth the wait!

This, was Street Eats, a food festival featuring popular, more high-end (no Chinese takeaways, here) restaurants and eateries setting up stalls and selling a selection of their menus. I couldn’t decide what I wanted so I chose the shortest line, which still meant a 10 to 15 minute wait. It was to Mexico, a Mexican restaurant (who would have guessed?) that does dangerously easy-to-drink sangria and incredible fried chicken. On this day, I chose a beef taco with avocado and kale chips. I’m sure there were other things on it too but I was too busy munching on that green stuff with the slightly blackened ends to really notice. It wasn’t that the taco was bad – in fact it was great – it was just the kale chips were that good. Up until this point, I had been unimpressed by the supervege so far but as the first crispy mouthful melted away, I thought, I could eat a whole bag of this. So, I decided to make it myself.

There’s nothing new or creative or fancy about this and I could care less about how it’s a healthier alternative to potato chips (which I love, by the way) but hopefully someone who hasn’t yet tried kale chips, or has cynically labelled them a pretentious fad, will see this and just give it a go.

I simply washed and thoroughly dried a bag of kale (about $2 from the local Asian grocers), coated every nook and cranny in olive oil, seasoned it and baked it in the oven at a low temperature. Instructions and 6 really handy tips can be found here.

As for the rest of lunch that day, I ended up waiting an hour in line for tasty but not an-hour-long-wait-tasty Wagyu burgers and duck fat chips. The things I do for food.

Crispy kale chips. Photo: Tao Lin

Crispy kale chips. Photo: Tao Lin

Leave a Reply

