Hummus, hummous, humos, hommus, hoummos

Whichever way you spell it, hummus tastes damn good and I can’t believe how simple it is to make. You’ll probably either laugh or roll your eyes when I say that the main reason I hadn’t made my own hummus until now is because I wasn’t sure whether the food processor at home worked or not. I remember trying it out once a while ago but it didn’t turn on so I thought it was broken. I probably didn’t turn it on properly because it worked like a noisy wonder yesterday.

There are so many different hummus recipes out there on the interwebs but I chose this one mainly because of the pictures and also the dedication they’ve put into getting the hummus nice and smooth. I’ve never really had “fancy” hummus (spinach-garlic-edamame hummus!) so I guess I wanted to stick with something more simple, too.

There isn’t really anything else I can think of to comment about making hummus except that it’s dead easy. I guess the hardest part is cleaning the food processor afterwards but I managed to weasel my way out of that one with the help of my boyfriend 😛

Blend tahini and lemon juice first. Photo: Tao Lin

Blend tahini and lemon juice first. Photo: Tao Lin

Add cumin, kosher salt, garlic. Photo: Tao Lin

Add cumin, kosher salt, garlic. Photo: Tao Lin

Chickpeas in and blend it all up. Photo: Tao Lin

Chickpeas in and blend it all up. Photo: Tao Lin

My not-very-pretty attempt serving up of hummus drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with paprika. Photo: Tao Lin

My not-very-pretty attempt serving up of hummus drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with paprika. Photo: Tao Lin

Also, this:

Photo: Tao Lin

Photo: Tao Lin

…is delicious!!! I know it’s very high in sugar and probably not that good for you but it’s really one of the tastiest drinks I’ve had. Just need a Turkish tea set now 😀

4 thoughts on “Hummus, hummous, humos, hommus, hoummos

  1. Pingback: Hummus, hummous, humos, hommus, hoummos | TheFoodGuy

Leave a Reply

