Life is just full of surprises…

Little gooey dark chocolate surprises! In my pre-fondant baking post I was resigned to the likelihood that my chocolate fondant wasn’t going to turn out great because my mixture was quite solid, much unlike that made by Gordon Ramsay:

I followed a recipe by Gordon that I found online, which is linked in my “pre” post. I started off by preparing the ramekins, which I buttered and dusted with freeze-dried coffee – which I had to rub between my hands to get it more powder-like – and icing sugar. I know the point was to make it chocolatey but I didn’t have any cocoa so I improvised.

Photo: Tao Lin

Photo: Tao Lin

Next I chopped up some 70% dark chocolate

Photo: Tao Lin

Photo: Tao Lin

The recipe said chop it up into small pieces, so I did, and it really helps when it comes to melting it later.

I prepped all the other ingredients and it was around about the stage where I had to mix together the  melted chocolate and butter with the flour, etc that it started looking a bit wrong. It became quite hard and started looking – and tasting – like chocolate mousse, but without all the air. It didn’t pour at all – I had to use a spoon to scoop it out into the ramekins.

Needless to say I was bit deflated at this point but I popped them into the fridge anyway, hoping they would turn out edible, at least.

When it came to baking, I only had them in the oven for about 10 minutes – I looked for the tops coming away from the sides of the ramekin – before it was the moment of truth: would they turn out how I wanted them to or would they be a complete flop? Would they even be edible??

Photo: Tao Lin

Photo: Tao Lin

Can you imagine the elation as I tentatively dug into one to find the cake exterior break away and reveal molten chocolate flowing out? It was literally a jump up and down kind of moment.

A lovely little dessert like this really deserves better presentation than I have managed in my photos but for now, I’m happy with it being made well and tasting delicious. Maybe a liqueur variation next time? 🙂

Photo: Tao Lin

Photo: Tao Lin

One thought on “Life is just full of surprises…

  1. Pingback: The art of timing | Of All Tastes

Leave a Reply

