Homemade chicken stock

Yesterday I underwent some mild surgery to remove two wisdom teeth. Having decided that mashed potatoes, yoghurt and  ice cream were getting a bit boring, even though it’s only been one day, I started making my own chicken stock so I could add a little variety to my post-teeth extraction diet in the form of chicken soup.

I didn’t have any herbs handy at home so I just added in about 1kg of chicken bones, 1 medium carrot chopped, 1 stalk of celery de-leaved and chopped, one brown onion chopped, a bit of salt, about 5 slices of ginger and some peppercorns (2 teaspoons). Oh and heaps (about 10 cups) of water. Simmered that for 2-3 hours and then drained it through a sieve into a heatproof bowl/container.

Now, I’m not going to go into details about the soup because it didn’t turn out how I wanted it to. The recipe I used from my Australian Women’s Weekly cookbook said to add two tablespoons of lemon juice, which I did, and it consequently made the soup too tangy. I’m not sure if that’s how the author meant it to taste but I wasn’t a fan.

Also, I’ve never been able to make soup with cream or milk or any dairy products and actually have it taste any good. I always inevitably get put off it from just tasting it, which I don’t know whether to attribute to my considerable lack of skill with making soups or whether I’m just not used to having dairy products in my soups (Chinese soups are actually broths – stock, water and whatever else we want to add in – usually a lot of vegetables, tastes very light when done well).

I think it’s back to broth for me!

Leave a Reply

