Overrun by Gingerbread People

It was a very humid day and probably not one I would ordinarily choose to spend in a kitchen baking cookies. However, it is Christmas (almost) and I had a lot of German Lebkuchen dough, add to that an invitation from my friend to join her in baking and decorating Christmas cookies and well, that’s essentially how I ended up on a muggy day in a hot kitchen making a couple of dozen little Gingerbread men (plus other shaped cookies).

In terms of taste, I find they’re not bad for my first go at this recipe. I think that not having spent an entire afternoon making the actual dough helps a lot in terms of my desire to eat the end product. I found that yesterday when I baked the other set of cookies I didn’t want to even look at them in the end because I had spent so long creating them.

The recipe is essentially the same one as the Pfeffernüsse recipe that I posted the time before last, minus the pepper but plus slivered almonds. The white cookies in the third picture are sugar cookies and we used royal icing for decorating.

Gingerbread men 1Gingerbread men 2Gingerbread men 3Gingerbread 5

Leave a Reply

