Second go at oven-baked snapper

One of the snapper I got last weekend has finally been put through the oven and consumed, dressed in dashes of soy sauce and sesame oil, sprinkled with garlic, ginger and green onion and topped with fresh slices of lemon.

I’m not a huge consumer of seafood and when I cooked my first snapper fillets last weekend, I didn’t really know when it was actually cooked. I’m not sure how the meat is meant to taste when it’s cooked right, when it’s undercooked and when it’s overcooked, but I think essentially, it’s done right when the flesh is opaque and flakes away when tested with a fork. Last time I kept them in the oven for about 15 minutes but this time, I checked them regularly from around the 10 minute mark to make sure I didn’t ruin the fish by overcooking it.

Believe it or not, I still have one more whole snapper to cook. Perhaps a stray away from Asian flavours is due?

Leave a Reply

