After: Pork Ribs

Pork Ribs

Obviously I’m not yet up to the stage where I care about presentation as much as I do about cooking the food properly but here is the “After” result of my first go at making pork ribs in all of its sticky, messy glory. There are heaps of things I can work on for next time but the main thing this time was that a) they were cooked and edible and b) the flavour was good.

Without any sort of insight from anyone who knows what I could have done better, I’m guessing my main issue was that I had the temperature a bit high as the meat dried out quite a bit. I know there are techniques to getting that nice, juicy, fall-off-the-bone meat that I didn’t get to read properly about, so hopefully next time this will work a bit better upon more self-education.

The flavour, though, was pretty good. It had the sweet and salty taste from the hoisin sauce and honey, plus a tiny little bit of spiciness from the tabasco. I’m not sure that there needs to be the amount of garlic and ginger I put in there (3 cloves of garlic and about a teaspoon of grated ginger) but I guess this depends on how “Asian-style” I want to make it.

I’m not entirely pleased with this attempt since the effort it took me in prepping and the actual cooking didn’t really show in the end result but ribs are one of my favourite dishes and I’m pretty keen to learn how to cook the perfect rack of ribs myself.

Leave a Reply

