Corn Chip Fiesta

Last night I went out for dinner with some of my friends and we went to a place in Elliott Stables called Besos Latinos, which serves a mixture of Mexican and South American cuisine. The four of us ended up getting an entree each and a “Mexican Platter” to share. This included:

  • Cheese quesadilla (3 pieces each)
  • Beef tacos (2 each)
  • Jalapeños, salsa, guacamole and chipotle sauce
  • Charro bean dip
  • A heck of a lot of corn chips

The beef was very good (although not quite as good as Mexico‘s beef taco – not sure it’s still on the menu but it was the best beef taco I’ve ever had) and the jalapeños were fresh and crunchy with a delightful kick. It was also the first time I had tried chipotle and although not the worst thing I’ve ever tasted, I’m not sure I’m completely sold on the flavour. The corn chips were also very abundant but not very tasty.

To be honest, I’m not a huge fan of Mexican food but if it’s got the tangy and salty flavours that I like and it’s not too heavy on the sour cream or guacamole, then it can really make a perfect meal. This was definitely one of the better Mexican meals I’ve had – although I would probably hold back a bit on the corn chips.

Leave a Reply

